Next Game - Tue, 07/23/24 - 7 PM
FALMOUTH @ CHATHAM, Veterans Field

Anglers News

« Back to 2010 News Archives

2010 Player Awards

by Anglers Media Team
Friday, August 06, 2010

2010 Player Awards
Prior to the start of Wednesday night's season finale at Veterans Field, Chatham Athletic Association President Doug Grattan, General Mananger Charlie Thoms and Manager John Schiffner presented seven Anglers with their 2010 player awards. Phil Pohl (Clemson) and Phil Schreiber (Iowa) were named the recipients of the Eddie Lyons Coaches Award. Kevin Vance (Connecticut) was given the Zane Carlson Outstanding Relief Pitcher award as he went 3-1 with a team-leading four saves out of the bullpen. Vance finished with a 0.50 ERA as he only allowed one earned run on the season.

All-Star pitchers Derek Self (Louisville) and Logan Verrett (Baylor) shared the Ed Baird Outstanding Pitcher Award. Self went 3-0 on the season with a 2.36 ERA in eight games. Verrett finished the season 2-1 with a 0.87 ERA, good for third in the league.

There were also two recipients of the Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player award as All-Stars Joe Pavone (Connecticut) and Aaron Westlake (Vanderbilt) were handed the award. Pavone finished second on the team with a .290 batting average while driving in eight runs on the season in 30 games. Westlake led the team with a .292 batting average while hitting five home runs and driving in 10.