Next Game - Sat, 06/15/24 - 6 PM

Anglers News

« Back to 2023 News Archives

Chatham Anglers announce 2023 team award winners

by Tyler Schiff
Tuesday, August 01, 2023

Chatham Anglers announce 2023 team award winners
Before its final regular season home game this year, the Chatham Anglers announced their annual team awards in a pregame ceremony led by interim manager Todd Shelton, general manager Mike Geylin and president Steve West. Here are the recipients.

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award: Kaeden Kent

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award is named for a person who selflessly volunteered his time to help maintain the franchise when it needed him the most.

Kaeden Kent (Texas A&M) tallied a .329 batting average and a team-high 22 RBIs this season. Kent was one of three Anglers named as a 2023 East Division Cape League All-Star and garnered the most hits (49) and runs (26) of any Angler. 

The Ed Baird Outstanding Pitcher Award: Aiden Jimenez

The Ed Baird Most Outstanding Pitcher Award is named for the team's current treasurer. Baird is a Cape League Hall of Famer who pitched three summers in Chatham, including on the 1967 championship team. His 0.45 ERA in 1965 is still a team record.

Aiden Jimenez (Oregon State) pitched in 15 2/3 innings this season, collecting a 1.14 ERA and 12 strikeouts. After Jimenez closed out a 3–0 Chatham shutout victory over Yarmouth-Dennis on July 13, former acting manager Marty Lees described Jimenez as constantly possessing “ice in his veins.”

Chatham's Aiden Jimenez (Oregon State) deals during the 2023 Cape Cod Baseball League All-Star Game on July 22, 2023, at Whitehouse Field  Emma Connelly / Chatham Anglers

The Silver Slugger Award: Deric Fabian

This award is given to the player that displays a great amount of power at the plate and boosts his lineup and team as a result.

Deric Fabian (Florida) leads Chatham offensively with a .352 batting average. He has registered 15 RBIs in 26 games and holds 20 earned walks this summer. In the Anglers' season finale at Orleans, Fabian belted his fourth home run of the season to secure a 14–12 Chatham win. 

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award: Kaeden Kent

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award is given to the player or players that display a great level of respect and care for the game and will do whatever they can to help Chatham on and off the field. It is named for former Chatham A coach and Cape Cod League Hall of Fame inductee Ed Lyons, who appreciated players who "grind" any way they can to help the team win a game.

Kaeden Kent (Texas A&M) appeared in a league-best 42 games and rung up a team-high 149 at-bats this season.

"Kaeden just continues to grow," Lees said after Chatham’s contest against Harwich on July 25. "He's one of the hardest workers we have on the field and he's been good all year. You can count on his concentration no matter what the score is."

The Zane Carlson Most Outstanding Relief Pitcher: Aiden Jimenez

The Zane Carlson Most Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award is named for a player who saved 34 games for the Anglers between 2001 and 2003, becoming the CCBL's first player to record double-digit saves in three consecutive seasons and establishing a new top mark for the league.

Aiden Jimenez (Oregon State) joined Kent as a 2023 Cape League All-Star. He was the only Chatham arm to receive the honor. On July 17, in a 6–3 victory over Wareham, Jimenez delivered three strikeouts to shutout the Gatemen across the eighth and ninth innings. According to Lees, Jimenez was the Anglers’ “best closer” this season.