Next Game - Sat, 06/15/24 - 6 PM

Anglers News

« Back to 2022 News Archives

Chatham Anglers announce 2022 team award winners

by Anish Vasudevan
Thursday, August 04, 2022

Chatham Anglers announce 2022 team award winners

Before its final regular season home game this year, the Chatham Anglers announced their annual team awards in a pregame ceremony led by general manager Mike Geylin and president Steve West. Here are the recipients.

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award: Marcus Brown

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award is named for a person who selflessly volunteered his time to help maintain the franchise when it needed him the most.

Marcus Brown (Oklahoma State) has been the Anglers everyday shortstop this season with a team-high 34 hits in 42 games this season. He leads the team with 91 assists and has a perfect fielding percentage. Brown is also fourth on the team with 13 RBIs.

The Ed Baird Outstanding Pitcher Award: Ben Hampton

The Ed Baird Most Outstanding Pitcher Award is named for the team's current treasurer. Baird is a Cape League Hall of Famer who pitched three summers in Chatham, including on the 1967 championship team. His 0.45 ERA in 1965 is still a team record.

Ben Hampton (West Virginia) pitched in 41.2 innings this summer, 18 more than the next Chatham pitcher. He posted a complete game on Saturday, the first in a nine-inning CCBL game since 2017. Hampton finished with a team-high 48 strikeouts, walking just four batters.

The Zane Carlson Most Outstanding Relief Pitcher: Brian Holiday

The Zane Carlson Most Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award is named for a player who saved 34 games for the Anglers between 2001 and 2003, becoming the CCBL's first player to record double-digit saves in three consecutive seasons and establishing a new top mark for the league.

Brian Holiday (Florida SouthWestern) sits behind only Hampton with 31 strikeouts this season, posting a 2.28 ERA in 23.2 innings on the mound. He put out 17 straight batters against Harwich on Tuesday, striking out 10 in six innings of relief.

The Silver Slugger Award: Guy Garibay Jr., Jake DeLeo

This award is given to the player that displays a great amount of power at the plate and boosts his lineup and team as a result.

Jake DeLeo (Georgia Tech) was Chatham's main offensive weapon in the first half of the season, becoming the only Angler position player to earn CCBL All-Star starter honors. DeLeo is second on the team with 30 hits and third with 14 RBIs.

Guy Garibay Jr.(Rice) is tied for a team-high 19 RBIs, someone who manager Tom Holliday referred to as an 'igniter' for Chatham's offense. He leads the team with five home runs this season.

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award: Matt Hogan

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award is given to the player or players that display a great level of respect and care for the game and will do whatever they can to help Chatham on and off the field. It is named for former Chatham A coach and Cape Cod League Hall of Fame inductee Ed Lyons, who appreciated players who "grind" any way they can to help the team win a game.

Matt Hogan (South Carolina) returned to Chatham this year, mainly pinch hitting for the Anglers in the latter part of the season. Hogan finished with a .220 batting average, a mark that's fourth on the team with at least 30 at-bats. He received this award for the second straight season.

Ben Peterson (Florida SouthWestern) made five appearances ''all out of the bullpen ' in his first season with Chatham. The right-hander struck out 17 batters in 14.2 innings.