Next Game - Sat, 06/15/24 - 6 PM

Anglers News

« Back to 2019 News Archives

Anglers team awards announced

by Anglers Media Team
Saturday, August 03, 2019

Anglers team awards announced

After Chatham’s 4-2 loss to Harwich, the Anglers announced their annual team awards at their postgame meal at Veterans Field.

Here are the recipients.

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award is named for a person who selflessly volunteered his time to help maintain the franchise when it needed him the most.

2019 Recipient: Kaden Polcovich (Oklahoma State)

Season Statistics: .305 BA, 4 HR, 28 RBI, .899 OPS

The Ed Baird Outstanding Pitcher Award

The Ed Baird Most Outstanding Pitcher Award is named for the team's current treasurer. Baird is a Cape League Hall of Famer who pitched three summers in Chatham, including on the 1967 championship team. Ed's 0.45 ERA in 1965 is still a team record.

2019 Recipient: Kolby Kubichek (Texas), Dawson Merryman (Texas)

Season Statistics: 

Kubichek — 30 IP, 0.90 ERA, .83 WHIP, 34 K

Merryman — 15.1 IP, 3.52 ERA, 1.57 WHIP, 15 K

The Silver Slugger Award

This award is given to the player that displays a great amount of power at the plate and boosts his lineup and team as a result.

2019 Recipient: Ben Ramirez (USC), Jamal O’Guinn (USC)

Season Statistics:

Ramirez — .279 BA, 2 HR, 12 RBI, .712 OPS

O’Guinn — .259 BA, 3 HR, 20 RBI, .820 OPS 

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award is given to the player or players that display a great level of respect and care for the game and will do whatever they can to help Chatham on and off the field. It is named for former Chatham A coach and Cape Cod League Hall of Fame inductee Ed Lyons, who appreciated players who "grind" any way they can to help the team win a game.

2019 Recipient: Jorge Arenas (Stetson)