Next Game - Tue, 07/23/24 - 7 PM
FALMOUTH @ CHATHAM, Veterans Field

Anglers News

« Back to 2018 News Archives

2018 team awards announced

by Anglers Media Team
Wednesday, August 01, 2018

2018 team awards announced

Before taking on the Orleans Firebirds on Wednesday night at Veterans Field, the Chatham Anglers recognized individual performances with the announcement of the 2018 team awards. Listed below are the 2018 recipients, whose names will be etched into history along with all-time great Chatham players and coaches.


The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award is named for a person who selflessly volunteered his time to help maintain the franchise when it needed him the most.

2018 Recipients: Alek Manoah (West Virginia) and Austin Bergner (North Carolina)

Manoah’s season: seven starts, 2.70 ERA, 48 strikeouts in 33.1 innings

Bergner’s season: four starts, 2.38 ERA, 26 strikeouts in 22.2 innings

Bergner's reaction: “After all this hard work, it is quite an honor”


The Ed Baird Outstanding Pitching Award

The Ed Baird Most Outstanding Pitcher Award is named for the team's current treasurer. Baird is a Cape League Hall of Famer who pitched three summers in Chatham, including on the 1967 championship team. Ed's 0.45 ERA in 1965 is still a team record.

2018 Recipient: Alek Manoah (West Virginia)

Season stats: seven starts, 2.70 ERA, 48 strikeouts in 33.1 innings

Manoah's reaction: “It feels good to these awards. But a ring would feel a lot better.”


The Zane Carlson Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award

The Zane Carlson Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award is given to the pitcher who is particularly stingy in relief, and also shows a selflessness to come into the game in any situation to help the team win. Carlson was a dominant closer for Baylor who pitched for Chatham in 2003, collecting 10 saves with a 1.35 ERA.

2018 Recipient: Troy Miller (Michigan)

Miller’s season: nine appearances, 1.14 ERA, 29 strikeouts in 23.2 innings.


The Silver Slugger Award

This award is given to the player that displays a great amount of power at the plate and boosts his lineup and team as a result.

2018 Recipient: Spencer Torkelson (Arizona State)

Torkelson’s season: .356 batting average, six HRs, 23 RBIs, nine doubles

Torkelson's reaction: “It feels dope. It’s really cool. You are playing with a bunch of good dudes and good players and to get this award is an honor.”


The Ed Lyons Coaches Award

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award is given to the player or players that display a great level of respect and care for the game and will do whatever they can to help Chatham on and off the field. It is named for former Chatham A coach and Cape Cod League Hall of Fame inductee Ed Lyons, who appreciated players who "grind" any way they can to help the team win a game.

2018 Recipient: John Rave (Illinois State) and Jorge Arenas (Stetson)

Rave’s season: .294 batting average, 4 HRs, 15 RBIs, six doubles

Arenas’ season: .226 batting average, nine RBIs, two doubles, 14 runs scored

Rave's reaction: “To be selected for the Ed Lyons Coaches Award feels pretty special that the coaches nominated me for it. I’m honored.”

Arenas' reaction: “Feels great being recognized by the organization. Great group of guys, great group of coaches to play under. I’m honored to play with the Chatham Anglers."