Veterans Field, Chatham, MA

Anglers News

« Back to 2014 News Archives

2014 team awards

by Anglers Media Team
Saturday, August 02, 2014

2014 team awards

Before taking on Bourne in an eventual 5-0 loss on Friday night, Chatham took the opportunity to recognize individual performances with the regular season nearing an end. Seven players were made part of team history and placed in conjunction with some of the most notable players and coaches to wear an Anglers uniform here’s who they were. 

The Williard Nichols Most Outstanding Player Award 

The Willard Nicholas Most Outstanding Player Award is named for a person who selflessly volunteered his time to help maintain the franchise when it needed him the most.

2014 recipient: A.J. Murray (Georgia Tech)

Season stats: .323 average, six home runs and 31 RBIs

The Ed Baird Outstanding Pitching Award

The Ed Baird Most Outstanding Pitcher Award is named for he team's current treasurer. Baird is a Cape League Hall of Famer who pitched three summers in Chatham, including on the 1967 championship team. Ed's 0.45 ERA in 1965 is still a team record.

2014 recipient: Jordan Hillyer (Kennesaw State)

Season stats: 5-0, 1.60 ERA and 32 strikeouts

The Zane Carlson Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award

The Zane Carlson Outstanding Relief Pitcher Award is given to the pitcher who is particularly stingy in relief, and also shows a selflessness to come into the game in any situation to help the team win. Carlson was a dominant closer for Baylor who pitched for Chatham in 2003, collecting 10 saves with a 1.35 ERA. 

2014 recipient: Kyle Davis (Southern California) 

Season stats: 2-1, five saves and 3.80 ERA

The “Big Stick” Most Outstanding Hitter Award

This award is given to the player that displays a great amount of power at the plate and boosts his lineup and team as a result. 

2014 recipient: Chris Shaw (Boston College)

Season stats: .281 average, seven home runs and 31 RBIs

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award

The Ed Lyons Coaches Award is given to the player or players that display a great level of respect and care for the game, and will do whatever they can to help Chatham on and off the field. It is named for former Chatham A coach and Cape Cod League Hall of Fame inductee Ed Lyons, who appreciated players who "grind" any way they can to help the team win a game.

2014 recipients: Nick Collins (Georgetown), Ty Moore (UCLA) and Kal Simmons (Kennesaw State)