Next Game - Sat, 06/15/24 - 6 PM

Anglers News

« Back to 2013 News Archives

Two Anglers inducted into CCBL Hall of Fame

by Chris Jones
Thursday, June 13, 2013

Two Anglers inducted into CCBL Hall of Fame
On November 16th, the Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame Class of 2013 will be inducted. Among the eight selected for the 14th Hall of Fame class are two Anglers; Merrill Doane (1923) and Mickey O'Connor (1976).

Doane and O'Connor will join 23 other A's in the CCBL Hall of Fame.

Doane, who played for the first Chatham Town Team in 1923, has helped build both the Anglers as an organization, and the Cape Cod League as a whole. He is one of the longest tenured general managers in the history of the league, as he served as the GM for Chatham for several decades. He worked with many hall of famers throughout his tenure, and won the 1967 championship with Chatham.

Doane was a key contributor when the Lower and Upper Cape Leagues merged to form a single Cape Cod League. He remained active in the league well into the 1980s.

In 1976, Mickey OConnor pitched to a 9-0 record for Chatham, posting a 1.07 ERA and striking out 47 batters in 84 innings pitched. He threw complete games out of the 10 he pitched, was named to the All-League team, and was voted the leagues most outstanding pitcher.

He was drafted twice, once out of high school in 1974 by the New York Mets (26th round), and again in 1977 by the Minnesota Twins (16th round). He spent two years in the minor leagues, playing for Wisconsin Rapids, the Class A affiliate of the Minnesota Twins, in 1977, and for Niagra Falls, a member of the Class Short-Season A New York-Pennsylvania League, in 1978.

The Class of 2013, which also includes current Baltimore Orioles catcher Matt Wieters, will be inducted Saturday, Nov. 16, at the Chatham Bars Inn.

The full list of A's in the Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame is below.

Chatham Alumni in CCBL Hall of Fame

2000 Ed Lyons, manager ('76-82); Thurman Munson ('67)
2002 George Greer ('66-67)
2003 Ed Baird ('65-67); Joe Jabar ('66-67)
2004 John Caneira ('73); Don Reed, coach ('85-86)
2005 Ken Voges ('63)
2006 Steve Duda ('91-92); Rik Currier ('98-99)
2007 Steve Saradnik ('64-67); Walt Terrell ('79)
2008 Derrick DePriest ('99); Mike Stenhouse ('77-79)
2009 Zane Carlson ('01-03); Joe "Skip" Lewis, manager ('65-69)
2010 Tom Grieve ('66); Tom Weir ('66)
2011 Dave Bush ('00-01); Mike Lowell ('94)
2012 John Carroll ('61-63); Andrew Miller ('04-05); Jim Sherman ('80-81)
2013 Merrill Doane (60 yrs as player, GM and volunteer); Mickey O'Connor ('76)