Veterans Field, Chatham, MA

Anglers News

« Back to 2011 News Archives

Peter and Diane Troy receive Fred Ebbett Lifetime Achievement Award

by CCBL Hall of Fame Committee
Monday, November 21, 2011

Peter and Diane Troy receive Fred Ebbett Lifetime Achievement Award

Diane and Peter with Bobby Malek, 2008

Diane and Peter with Matt Camp, 2004

Diane and Peter with Sammy Solis, 2008
Peter and Diane Troy moved from New York to Cape Cod in 1979 and raised their four children in Chatham. By 1988, eldest daughter Casey attended her first year of baseball camp - with instructor Jeff Bagwell - and the family enjoyed the experience so much that a decision was made to host players the following year. Hosting would then continue the next 20 summers.

In 1990 Peter was elected Vice President of the Chatham Athletic Association and served numerous terms as President through 2009. The rest of the family also took on a variety of roles - Diane designed and sold merchandise, Casey sang the anthem and became scorekeeper for John Wylde, Sally managed the food concession for 12 years, Andrew was batboy then photographer/videographer, and Mia pitched in when needed.

Throughout the raising of funds, holding of CAA office, and chairing special events like Team USA in 2000, the US Military All-Stars games, and the CCBL All-Star Games of 1998 and 2008, their feelings of personal satisfaction were matched only by the response of the fans that were observed enjoying the nightly games at Veterans Field.

From all the Troys, it has been a privilege to be part of the Cape Cod Baseball League legacy, and we thank you for the memories and for your friendship.

Fred Ebbett Award

The Fred Ebbett Lifetime Achievement Award is a highly coveted recognition by the CCBL Hall of Fame Committee. Integrity, professionalism, sense of fairness and a high level of respect were all attributes that endeared all of us to Fred Ebbett and naming this award in his honor is indicative of how important this award is. This award recognizing a significant franchise volunteer was named after Fred in 2003 in recognition of the unparalleled contributions made to the CCBL by the late Fred Ebbett, himself an inductee in the Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame.

Previous winners

2002 Arnie Allen, Falmouth
2003 Tom Desmond, Chatham
2004 Ed Mooney, Orleans
2005 Tommy Gage, Brewster
2006 Tim Ellstrom, Hyannis
2007 Al Irish, Falmouth
2008 Art Hyland, CCBL; Paul Zuest, Chatham Bars Inn
2009 Phil Edwards, CCBL
2010 Jim McGonigle, Harwich
2011 Peter and Diane Troy

The above excerpt comes from the Cape Cod Baseball League's 2011 Induction Ceremony program.